Rose Wood School Nursery forms part of the “Foundation Stage” of school education, which begins when your child is born and continues until the end of Reception.  Rose Wood's foundation stage was judged as 'Outstanding' in its last ofsted report.  They stated 'Children make an excellent start to learning in early years. They thrive in an environment that is exciting, safe and caring'  If you choose to send your child to our Nursery they will be allocated either a morning or afternoon session.  Alternatively, we are also offer 30 hrs provision to eligible families. 

Morning: 8:30 to 8:50am – 11:15 to 11:30am
Afternoon: 12.30 to 12:40pm – 3:00 to 3.30pm

(The drop of and pick up times offer flexibility to suit parent’s needs)

Areas of Learning

There are seven areas of learning, all of which are carefully planned for at each stage of development. We build on what the children can already do.

Within the seven areas of learning there are three prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

and four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world

Activities are planned around topics on a half-termly basis and we keep parents informed of the topics we are learning about via a newsletter.